MINUTES

HOUSE APPROPRIATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL GOVERNMENT

DATE: March 20, 2018

The Subcommittee meeting was called to order by Representative VerHeulen at 9:00 a.m.

Roll was taken: Present - Representatives VerHeulen, LaSata, Pagel, Allor, Bizon, LaGrand, Durhal III, and Faris Absent – None

I. Approval of the Minutes from the Previous Subcommittee Meeting

Representative LaGrand moved to approve the minutes from the Subcommittee meeting held on March 13, 2018. The motion prevailed, a majority of the members voting in the affirmative.

II. House Substitute for HB 5567 (H-1) Draft 1

- A. Representative LaSata moved to place the House Substitute for HB 5567 (H-1) Draft 1 before the House Subcommittee for discussion. The motion passed. Yeas (8) Representatives VerHeulen, LaSata, Pagel, Allor, Bizon, LaGrand, Durhal III, and Faris; Nays (0).
- B. Ben Gielczyk and Michael Cnossen from the House Fiscal Agency proceeded to give an overview of the contents of the bill.
- C. Representative Faris moved to amend the bill by prohibiting the Attorney General from including the likeness of, or name of, any specific state officer in any promotional media or brochures related to the Student Safety Hotline of the OK2Say program. The motion failed. Yeas (3) Representatives LaGrand, Durhal III, and Faris; Nays (5) Representatives VerHeulen, LaSata, Pagel, Allor, and Bizon.
- D. Representative LaGrand moved to amend the bill by increasing Supplemental City, Village, and Township Revenue Sharing by \$3.1 million. The motion failed. Yeas (3) Representatives LaGrand, Durhal III, and Faris; Nays (5) Representatives VerHeulen, LaSata, Pagel, Allor, and Bizon.
- E. Representative Durhal III moved to amend the bill by increasing County Revenue Sharing back to the FY 2017-18 appropriation level. The motion failed. Yeas (3) Representatives LaGrand, Durhal III, and Faris; Nays (5) Representatives VerHeulen, LaSata, Pagel, Allor, and Bizon.
- F. Representative LaSata moved to report the House Substitute for HB 5567 (H-1) Draft 1 out of the House Subcommittee and refer it to the House Standing Committee on Appropriations with recommendation that it pass. The motion passed. Yeas (6) Representatives VerHeulen, LaSata, Pagel, Bizon, LaGrand, and Durhal; Nays (1) Representative Allor; Passes (1) Representative Faris.
- III. Representative VerHeulen adjourned the Subcommittee meeting at 10:01 a.m.