

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

REP. SHANE HERNANDEZ CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, July 22, 2020 9:40 AM Senate Hearing Room, Ground Floor, Boji Tower

The House Committee on Appropriations was called to order by Chair Hernandez.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Glenn moved to adopt the meeting minutes from June 24, 2020. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Representative Miller move to approve Executive Order 2020-155. The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

The Chair laid SB 595 before the committee:

SB 595 (Sen. Schmidt)

A bill to authorize the state administrative board to accept and convey real property in Grand Traverse County; to prescribe conditions for the conveyance; and to provide for disposition of the revenue from the conveyance.

Senator Schmidt introduced the bill.

Gabe Schneider testified in support of SB 595.

Representative Sheppard moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to SB 595. The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Slagh moved to report out SB 595 with recommendation, as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

The Chair laid SB 799 before the committee:

SB 799 (Sen. McBroom)

A bill to authorize the department of natural resources to accept and convey real property in Gogebic County; to prescribe conditions for the conveyance; and to provide for disposition of the revenue from the conveyance.

Paul Burns, representing the Office of Senator McBroom, testified on the bill.

The following person submitted a card in support of SB 799, but did not wish to speak: Craig Brunet, representing the Michigan Department of Natural Resources.

Representative Lightner moved to report out SB 799 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

At 9:51 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 9:58 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair laid SB 145 before the committee:

SB 145 (Sen. Bumstead)

A bill to make appropriations for the department of natural resources for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020; and to provide for the expenditure of the appropriations.

Representative Green moved to adopt substitute (H-3) to SB 145. The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Allor moved to report out SB 145 with recommendation, as substitute (H-3). The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Hernandez, Miller, Sheppard, Albert, Allor, Brann, VanSingel, Whiteford, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Green, Huizenga, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Hoadley, Love, Pagan, Hammoud, Peterson, Sabo, Anthony, Brixie, Cherry, Hood, Kennedy, Tate.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

At 10:00 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

Rep. Shane Hernandez adjourned the committee from the Floor of the Michigan House of Representatives, the time being 2:28 p.m.

Representative Shane Hernandez, Chair

Matt Carnagie Committee Clerk mcarnagie@house.mi.gov