

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND MUNICIPAL FINANCE

REP. JAMES LOWER
CHAIR

# **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

12:00 PM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Local Government and Municipal Finance was called to order by the Chair.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Lower, Marino, Crawford, Calley, Howell, Eisen, Meerman, Paquette,

Ellison, Sowerby, Garza, Hope, Kuppa.

Absent/Excused: None.

Representative Marino moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 24, 2019. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4050 before the committee:

HB 4050

(Rep. Inman) A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled "The general property tax act," by amending section 27a (MCL 211.27a), as amended by 2016 PA 375.

Representative Marino moved to refer House Bill No. 4050 to the committee on Ways and Means. The motion prevailed 8-5-0:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Lower, Marino, Crawford, Calley, Howell, Eisen, Meerman, Paquette.

Nays: Reps. Ellison, Sowerby, Garza, Hope, Kuppa.

Pass: None.

The Chair laid HR 0056 before the committee:

HR 0056 (Rep. Robinson) A resolution to urge the Congress of

the United States to consider legislation or other reforms to help stabilize distressed multiemployer pension systems.

Representative Robinson, Bill Black, representing the Teamsters, Bill Scott, representing the Michigan Committee to Protect Pensions, and John Wilkinson, representing the National United Committee to Protect Pensions, all testified in support of the resolutions. Questions and discussion followed.

The following people submitted a card in support of HR 0056, but did not wish to speak: Stephanie Glidden, representing the Michigan AFL-CIO.

Steve Claywell, representing the Michigan Building Trades Council.

Sue Browne, representing the United Steel Workers District 2.

The Chair laid HB 4046 before the committee:

HB 4046 (Rep. Sheppard) A bill to amend 2006 PA 110, entitled

"Michigan zoning enabling act," (MCL 125.3101 to

125.3702) by adding section 206b.

Representative Marino moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4046. The motion prevailed 8-5-0:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Lower, Marino, Crawford, Calley, Howell, Eisen, Meerman, Paquette.

Nays: Reps. Ellison, Sowerby, Garza, Hope, Kuppa.

Pass: None.

Representative Sheppard testified in support of HB 4046. Questions and discussion followed.

Allison Schraub, representing Airbnb, testified in support of HB 4046.

Brian Westrin and David Pierson, both representing the Michigan Realtors Association, Jim Natsis, Jason Milovich, and Matt Hodges, all representing the local realtors on Lake Michigan, testified in support of HB 4046. Questions and discussion followed.

Susan Schulz and Karyn Ferrick, both representing the City of Grand Rapids,, testified in opposition to HB 4046. Questions and discussion followed.

John Hodgson, representing the City of St. Joseph, testified in opposition to HB 4046.

Don Gelmet and Adam Poll, representing the City of Alpena, testified in opposition to HB 4046. Questions and discussion followed.

Lucy Welch, Ann McLaughlin, Larry McLaughlin, and Ellen delaRosa-Pearn, all representing

Spring Lake Township, testified in opposition to HB 4046. Questions and discussion followed.

Mindy Bradish-Orta, representing the Michigan Association of Convention and Visitors Bureau, testified in opposition to HB 4046. Questions and discussion followed.

Marcus Percia, representing the City of Cadillac, testified in opposition to HB 4046.

Patt McGinnis and Robert Moneta, representing the City of Grand Haven, testified in opposition to HB 4046.

Katie Hosier, representing the City of South Haven, testified in opposition to HB 4046.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to the bill, but did not wish to speak: Scott Reinert, representing the South Haven Visitors Bureau.

Amanda Wilkin, representing Charleviox Area CVB.

Trevor Ticach, representing Traverse City Tourism.

Millicent Huminsky, representing the Southwest Michigan Tourist Council.

Larisa Draves, representing TICOM.

Bill Anderson, representing SEMCOG.

David Gregory of Kelley Cawthrone, representing the City of Mackinac Island.

David Gregory of Kelley Cawthrone, representing the Mackinac Island CVB.

Dennis Mitchell, representing Lake Angelus.

Michelle Foster. Mike Gavey, representing the City of St. Joseph.

Mike Hawks, representing the City of Lansing.

Jack Schripsema, representing the Greater Lansing Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Fred Zorn, representing the City of Southfield.

Curtis Hold, representing the City of Wyoming.

Tim Keyes, representing Romulus.

Connor Spalding, representing the Michigan Restaurant and Lodging Association.

Mike O'Callaghan, representing the Deroit Metro CVB.

Joe Valentine, the City Managers of the City of Birmingham.

Leo Savoie, the Supervisor of Bloomfield Township.

Estebm Aluarado, representing the City of East Lansing Fire Department.

George Lahanas, the City Manager of the City of East Lansing.

Jessica Spegelberg-Daley, representing the City of Jackson.

William Mills, representing the City of Jackson.

David Batterson, representing the City of Jackson.

Lydell Tanner, representing the City of Jackson.

Michael Brandt, representing the City of Jackson.

Jennifer Morris, representing the City of Jackson.

Brian Taylor, representing the City of Jackson.

Sean O'Neill, representing the Southside Neighborhood of Grand Haven.

Jennifer Howland, representing the City of Grand Haven and the Village of Spring Lake.

Laura Haynes, representing the Conference of Western Wayne.

The following people submitted a card in support of the bill, but did not wish to speak: Mark Fisk, representing Byrum Fisk Communications.

Forrest Wall, representing the Apartment Association of Michigan.

Matt Hagan, representing Hagan Realty.

Ryan Servatius, representing the Southwestern Michigan Realtors Association and Century 21.

Dan Papinau, representing the Michigan Chamber of Commerce.

Lee Schwartz, representing the Michigan Homebuilders Association.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to the bill, but due to time constraints were unable to speak:

Andrea Brown, representing the Michigan Association of Planning. Konrad Hittner, representing the Bailey Community Association of East Lansing.

Frank Walsh, Manager of the Meridian Charter Township.

Jorja Baldwin, representing Fort Gratiot Charter Township.

Joy Gaasda, representing the Chamber of Commerce for Grand Haven, Spring Lake, and Ferrysburg.

Christine Burns, representing Spring Lake Village.

Bethany Smith, representing the City of Jackson.

Patrick Burtch and Shane LaPort, representing the City of Jackson.

Christine Zuzga, representing the City of Battle Creek.

Annette Irwin, representing the City of East Lansing.

Leo Neville, representing the City of Livonia.

Judy Allen, representing the Michigan Townships Association.

Jen Rigterink, representing of Michigan Municipal League.

The following people submitted a card in support of the bill, but due to time constraints was unable to speak:

Al Block, representing the Greater Metropolitan Association of Realtors.

Jarrett Skorup, representing the Mackinac Center.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. James Lower adjourned the meeting at 1:29 PM.

Representative James Lower, Chair

Angela Lake Committee Clerk alake@house.mi.gov