

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON NATURAL RESOURCES AND OUTDOOR RECREATION REP. GARY HOWELL CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

12:00 PM

Room 326, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Natural Resources and Outdoor Recreation was called to order by Chair Howell.

The Chair requested attendance be called: Present: Reps. Howell, Wakeman, Calley, Reilly, Rendon, Eisen, Sowerby, Cambensy, Pohutsky. Absent/Excused: None.

Representative Rendon moved to adopt the minutes from the January 21<sup>st</sup>, 2020 meeting. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5401 and HB 5402 before the committee:

HB 5401	"Natural resour	A bill to amend 1994 PA 451, entitled ces and environmental protection act," by on 80146 (MCL 324.80146), as amended by
HB 5402	"Revised judica 8701, and 8703 section 113 as a	A bill to amend 1961 PA 236, entitled ature act of 1961," by amending sections 113, (MCL 600.113, 600.8701, and 600.8703), amended by 1996 PA 79, section 8701 as PA 12, and section 8703 as amended by 1996

Representative Eisen testified in support of HB 5401 and HB 5402. Questions and discussion followed.

Artie Bryson, representing Clay Township, testified in support of HB 5401 and HB 5402. Questions and discussion followed.

Pat Hohl, representing Hamburg Township, testified in support of HB 5401 and HB 5402.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5401 and HB 5402, but did not wish to speak:

Moreno Taylor II, representing the Michigan Waterfront Alliance.

Blaine Koops, representing the Michigan Sheriffs Association.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5401 and HB 5402, but did not wish to speak:

Nicki Pokan, representing the Michigan Boating Industries Association.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5401, but did not wish to speak: Tom Frazier, representing the Michigan Townships Association.

The Chair laid HCR 12 before the committee:

HCR 12	(Rep. Howell) A concurrent resolution to oppose Canada's consideration of placing a permanent high-level radioactive
	waste storage site on the shores of Lake Huron, to urge the
	waste storage site on the shores of Lake Huron, to tage the
	United States Congress to take every legal action possible to
	prevent the construction of any underground high-level
	nuclear waste repository in the Great Lakes basin, and to
	urge the Canadian government to prohibit a high-level
	nuclear waste repository anywhere in the Great Lakes basin.

At 12:22 pm Chair Howell handed over the gavel to Vice Chair Wakeman.

Representative Howell testified in support of HCR 12. Questions and discussion followed.

Sean Hammond, representing Michigan Environmental Council, testified in support of HCR 12.

Nick Occhipinti, representing Michigan League of Conservation Voters, testified in support of HCR 12.

At 12:38 pm Vice Chair Wakeman handed the gavel back over to Chair Howell.

The following people submitted a card in support of HCR 12, but did not wish to speak: Jennifer McKay, representing the Tip of the Mitt Watershed Council. Bryan Burroughs, representing the Trout Unlimited. Melissa Desimone, representing the Michigan Lakers & Streamers Association. Horst Schmidt, representing the Upper Peninsula Environmental Coalition. Crystal Davis, representing the Alliance for the Great Lakes. Charles Griffith, representing the Ecology Center. Matt Penniman, representing the League of Michigan Bicyclists. Amy Trotter, representing the Michigan United Conservation Clubs. Shannon Donley, representing the Michigan Democratic Party Environmental Caucus. Thomas Gilpin, representing the Michigan Sierra Club.

Representative Wakeman moved to report out HCR 12 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 8-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Howell, Wakeman, Calley, Rendon, Eisen, Sowerby, Cambensy, Pohutsky. Nays: Rep. Reilly.

Pass: None.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Howell adjourned the meeting at 12:46 PM.

Representative Gary Howell, Chair

Amy Rostkowycz Committee Clerk arostkowycz@house.mi.gov