

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### **COMMITTEE ON TAX POLICY**

REP. LYNN AFENDOULIS
CHAIR

# **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, May 1, 2019

10:30 AM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by the Chair.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson.

Absent/Excused: Rep. Whitsett.

The Chair laid before the committee following Presentation: National Federation of Independent Business, Small Business Taxation in Michigan.

Charles Owen, National Federation of Independent Business, testified regarding the presentation. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair laid HB 4189, HB 4190 and HB 4191 before the committee:

HB 4189

(Rep. Sheppard)A bill to amend 2007 PA 36, entitled "Michigan business tax act," by amending sections 117, 500, and 505 (MCL 208.1117, 208.1500, and 208.1505), section 117 as amended by 2011 PA 292, section 500 as amended by 2016 PA 426, and section 505 as amended by 2011 PA 305, and by adding section 402; and to repeal acts and parts of acts.

HB 4190 (Rep. Webber) A bill to amend 1995 PA 24, entitled

"Michigan economic growth authority act," by amending section 8 (MCL 207.808), as amended by 2009 PA 123.

HB 4191 (Rep. Coleman) A bill to amend 1967 PA 281, entitled

"Income tax act of 1967," by amending section 680 (MCL

206.680), as amended by 2012 PA 70.

Representative Webber spoke regarding Substitute (H-2) to HB 4189 and Substitute (H-2) to HB 4191.

Representative S. Johnson spoke regarding substitute (H-4) to HB 4190

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt substitute (H-2) to HB 4189. The motion prevailed 14-0-0:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Vancov, Wittenberg, Ellicon, Lacincki, Bobinson

 $Schroeder,\,Yancey,\,Wittenberg,\,Ellison,\,Lasinski,\,Robinson.$ 

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative S Johnson moved to adopt substitute (H-4) to HB 4190. The motion prevailed 14-0-0:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt substitute (H-2) to HB 4191. The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

#### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski.

Nays: Rep. Robinson.

Pass: None.

Representative Webber moved to refer House Bill No. 4189 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-2). The motion prevailed 13-0-1:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder,

Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson.

Nays: None.

Pass: Rep. Lower.

Representative Hall moved to refer House Bill No. 4190 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-4). The motion prevailed 13-0-1:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson.

Nays: None.

Pass: Rep. Lower.

Representative Schroeder moved to refer House Bill No. 4191 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-2). The motion prevailed 13-0-1:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson.

Nays: None.

Pass: Rep. Lower.

The following people submitted a card with a neutral position on HB 4189, HB 4190 and HB 4191, but did not wish to speak:

Steve Bieda, representing the Michigan Department of Treasury.

Alex Morris, representing the Michigan Bankers Association.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4189, HB 4190 and HB 4191, but did not wish to speak:

Bill Zaagman, representing the City of Southfield.

Mike Johnston, representing the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

Dan Papineau, representing the Michigan Chamber of Commerce.

Mike McCready, representing the Oakland County Economic Development Corporation.

Representative Vaupel moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 24, 2019. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Representative Afendoulis moved to excuse Representative Whitsett from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Lynn Afendoulis adjourned the meeting at 11:20 AM.

Representative Lynn Afendoulis, Chair

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov