

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON TAX POLICY

REP. LYNN AFENDOULIS CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, June 19, 2019

10:30 AM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by Chair Afendoulis.

At 10:31 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 10:34 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson, Whitsett.

Absent/Excused: Rep. Wittenberg.

Representative Schroeder moved to adopt the meeting minutes from June 12, 2019. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4540, HB 4541, HB 4542 and HB 4543 before the committee:

HB 4540 (Rep. Afendoulis) A bill to amend 1933 PA 167,

entitled "General sales tax act," (MCL 205.51 to 205.78) by

adding section 2d.

HB 4541 (Rep. Tate) A bill to amend 1937 PA 94, entitled "Use

tax act,"(MCL 205.91 to 205.111) by adding section 5c.

HB 4542 (Rep. Webber) A bill to amend 1933 PA 167, entitled

"General sales tax act," (MCL 205.51 to 205.78) by adding

section 2c.

HB 4543 (Rep. Yancey) A bill to amend 1937 PA 94, entitled "Use

tax act,"(MCL 205.91 to 205.111) by adding section 5b.

Representative Lower spoke in support of the bills.

Representative Lower moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4540. The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Nays: Rep. Robinson.

Pass: None.

Representative Lower moved to refer House Bill No. 4540 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson, Whitsett.

Nays: Rep. Hall. Pass: None.

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4541. The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Nays: Rep. Robinson.

Pass: None.

Representative O'Malley moved to refer House Bill No. 4541 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 12-2-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Nays: Reps. Hall, Robinson.

Pass: None.

Representative Webber moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4542. The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson, Whitsett.

Nays: Rep. Hall.

Pass: None.

Representative Webber moved to refer House Bill No. 4542 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Nays: Rep. Robinson.

Pass: None.

Representative Farrington moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4543. The motion prevailed 14-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, Hall, O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson, Whitsett.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Schroeder moved to refer House Bill No. 4543 to the committee on Ways and Means, with recommendation as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 13-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, S Johnson, O'Malley,

Schroeder, Yancey, Ellison, Lasinski, Robinson, Whitsett.

Nays: Rep. Hall.

Pass: None.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4540, HB 4541, HB 4542 and HB 4543, but did not wish to speak:

Rachel Richards, representing the Michigan League for Public Policy.

Steve Bieda, representing the Michigan Department of Treasury.

Mike Compagnoni, representing the Michigan Municipal League.

Anya Malkov, representing Amazon.

Amy Drumm, representing the Michigan Retailers Association.

Micah Babcock, representing the Small Business Association of Michigan.

Erik Hingst, representing Walmart.

Deena Bosworth, representing the Michigan Association of Counties.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4540, HB 4541, HB 4542 and HB 4543, but did not wish to speak:

Matt Groen, representing the Telecommunications Association.

Chris Horak, representing Comcast.

Del Chenault, representing Verizon.

Gavin Goetz, representing AT&T.

Representative Yancey moved to excuse Representative Wittenberg from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Lynn Afendoulis adjourned the meeting at 11:44 AM.

Representative Lynn Afendoulis, Chair

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov