

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON TAX POLICY REP. LYNN AFENDOULIS

CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, September 22, 10:00 Room 352, House Appropriations, State Capitol 2020 AM Building

The House Committee on Tax Policy was called to order by Chair Afendoulis.

At 10:04 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 10:08 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, Steven Johnson, Hall,

O'Malley, Schroeder, Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Absent: Rep. Cynthia Neeley. Excused: Rep. Cynthia Neeley.

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt the meeting minutes from September 15, 2020. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5778 and HB 5779 before the committee:

HB 5778 (Rep. Ellison) A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled "The

general property tax act," (MCL 211.1 to 211.155)

by adding section 9p.

HB 5779 (Rep. Ellison) A bill to provide for the exemption of certain

property from certain taxes; to levy and collect a specific tax upon the owners of certain property; to provide for the disposition of that specific tax; to provide for the powers and duties of certain state and local governmental officers and entities;

and to provide penalties.

The following person submitted a card in opposition to HB 5778 and HB 5779, but did not

wish to speak:

Lance Binoniemi, representing the Michigan Infrastructure and Transportation Association.

Representative Ellison moved to refer HB 5778 to the Committee on Ways and Means. The motion prevailed 12-2-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, O'Malley, Schroeder,

Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Nays: Reps. Steven Johnson, Hall.

Pass: None.

Representative Lower moved to refer HB 5779 to the Committee on Ways and Means. The motion prevailed 12-2-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Afendoulis, Lower, Vaupel, Webber, Farrington, O'Malley, Schroeder,

Yancey, Wittenberg, Ellison, Lasinski, Whitsett.

Nays: Reps. Steven Johnson, Hall.

Pass: None.

Representative Yancey moved to excuse Representative Cynthia Neeley from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Afendoulis adjourned the meeting at 10:11 AM.

Representative Lynn Afendoulis, Chair

Molly Wingrove Acting Committee Clerk mwingrove@house.mi.gov