

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Transportation Rep. Jack O'Malley Chair

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

10:30 AM

Room 327, House Office Building

The House Standing Committee on Transportation was called to order by the Chair.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. O'Malley, Eisen, Cole, Sheppard, Alexander, Bellino, Howell, Afendoulis, Sneller, Clemente, Yancey, Haadsma, Shannon. Absent/Excused: None.

Representative Yancey moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 19, 2019. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Executive Director Ron Brenke, Bob Rabeler, Robert Leppala, and Jayson Nault, all representing the American Council of Engineering Companies of Michigan, provided a presentation on Road Building 101 and reviewed the following topics: Road Project Life Cycle; Road Design Factors; Road Design Process; Construction Considerations; and Innovations to Improve Quality, Efficiency, and Safety. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair laid HB 4120 before the committee:

HB 4120(Rep. Markkanen)A bill to amend 1909 PA 283,
entitled "An act to revise, consolidate, and add to the laws
relating to the establishment, opening, discontinuing,
vacating, closing, altering, improvement, maintenance, and
use of the public highways and private roads; the
condemnation of property and gravel therefor; the building,
repairing and preservation of bridges; maintaining public

access to waterways under certain conditions; setting and protecting shade trees, drainage, and cutting weeds and brush within this state; providing for the election or appointment and defining the powers, duties, and compensation of state, county, township, and district highway officials; and to prescribe penalties and provide remedies," by amending section 10 of chapter IV (MCL 224.10), as amended by 2004 PA 516.

Representative Sheppard moved to refer House Bill No. 4120 to the committee on Ways and Means. The motion prevailed 13-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. O'Malley, Eisen, Cole, Sheppard, Alexander, Bellino, Howell, Afendoulis, Sneller, Clemente, Yancey, Haadsma, Shannon. Nays: None. Pass: None.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Jack O'Malley adjourned the meeting at 11:49 AM.

Representative Jack O'Malley, Chair

Dakota Soda Committee Clerk dsoda@house.mi.gov