

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

REP. THOMAS A. ALBERT
CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, March 23, 9:00 Room 352, House Appropriations, State Capitol 2022 AM Building

The House Committee on Appropriations was called to order by Chair Albert.

At 9:01 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 10:13 PM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Albert, Whiteford, Allor, Brann, Frederick, Hornberger, Marino, VanSingel, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Beson, Borton, Tate, Peterson, Sabo, Tyrone Carter, Hood, Cynthia Johnson, Brabec, O'Neal, Rogers, Steckloff, Thanedar, Weiss.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Whiteford moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 9, 2022. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Representative Whiteford moved to lay SB 565 before the committee. The motion prevailed without objection.

SB 565 (Sen. Bumstead) A bill to make, supplement, and adjust

appropriations for various state departments and agencies for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022; to provide for certain conditions on

appropriations; and to provide for the expenditure

of the appropriations.

Representative Whiteford moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to SB 565. The motion prevailed 29-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Albert, Whiteford, Allor, Brann, Frederick, Hornberger, Marino, VanSingel, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Lightner, Maddock, Slagh, VanWoerkom, Beson, Borton, Tate, Peterson, Sabo, Tyrone Carter, Hood, Cynthia Johnson, Brabec, O'Neal, Rogers, Steckloff, Thanedar, Weiss.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Mary Ann Cleary, Director of the House Fiscal Agency, gave an overview of the SB 565 as substitute (H-1). Questions and discussion followed.

Representative Whiteford moved to report out SB 565 with recommendation, as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 27-0-2:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Albert, Whiteford, Allor, Brann, Frederick, Hornberger, Marino, VanSingel, Yaroch, Bollin, Glenn, Lightner, Maddock, VanWoerkom, Beson, Borton, Tate, Peterson, Sabo, Tyrone Carter, Hood, Brabec, O'Neal, Rogers, Steckloff, Thanedar, Weiss.

Nays: None.

Pass: Reps. Slagh, Cynthia Johnson.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Albert adjourned the meeting at 10:23 PM.

Representative Thomas Albert, Chair

Matt Carnagie Committee Clerk mcarnagie@house.mi.gov