

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Families, Children, and Seniors Rep. Rodney Wakeman Chair

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, April 20, 202112:00 PMRoom 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Families, Children, and Seniors was called to order by Chair Wakeman.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Wakeman, Wozniak, Marino, Rendon, Tisdel, Pohutsky, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Aiyash.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Wozniak moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 16, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

At 12:02 PM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 12:05 PM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair laid HB 4159 and HB 4160 before the committee:

HB 4159	(Rep. Kuppa)	A bill to amend 1931 PA 328, entitled "The Michigan penal code," (MCL 750.1 to 750.568) by adding section 145h.
HB 4160	(Rep. Calley)	A bill to amend 1931 PA 328, entitled "The Michigan penal code," (MCL 750.1 to 750.568) by adding section 145i.

Representative Kuppa, testified in support of HB 4159 and (H-1).

Representative Pohutsky moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4159. The motion prevailed 9-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Wakeman, Wozniak, Marino, Rendon, Tisdel, Pohutsky, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Aiyash. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Wakeman moved to refer House Bill No. 4159 to the Committee on Judiciary, with recommendation as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 9-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Wakeman, Wozniak, Marino, Rendon, Tisdel, Pohutsky, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Aiyash. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Rendon moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4160. The motion prevailed 9-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Wakeman, Wozniak, Marino, Rendon, Tisdel, Pohutsky, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Aiyash. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Rendon moved to refer House Bill No. 4160 to the Committee on Judiciary, with recommendation as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 9-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Wakeman, Wozniak, Marino, Rendon, Tisdel, Pohutsky, Camilleri, Brenda Carter, Aiyash. Nays: None. Pass: None.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4159 and HB 4160, but did not wish to speak:

Kathy Hagenian, representing the Michigan Coalition to End Domestic and Sexual Violence.

Jean Doss and Rebecca Shiemke, representing the Michigan Poverty Law Program. Dawn Hayes, as the Mother of Allie Hayes.

Richard Machesky, the Superintendent of Troy School District.

Chirstina Marsack-Topolewski, representing the Eastern Michigan University College of Health and Human Services.

Annemarie Kelly, representing the Eastern Michigan University College of Health and Human Services.

Kally Harris.

Abigail Lewis.

Bill Turner.

Staci Vought.

Gwen Simon.

Todd Heugh. Amy Olsen. Kristin Mitchell. Christine Ferguson. Jessica Visocchi. Kathy Cappuso. Eileen Hohner. Robert Hohner. Julia Hohner. Gary Koskinen. Dayna Koskinen. Kevin Voel. Rachel Schmidt. Paula Kozik. Robert Cleary. Karen Cleary. Karen Peters. Florence Vogel. Elaine Vogel. John Vogel. Donald Peters. Sally Koskinen. Leah Koskinen. Bob Koskinen. Scott Koskinen. Karen Maas. Denise Robson. Alan Robson. Melissa Rehbine. Angie Timko. Zachary Colesa. Sherry Abbott. Nancy Thompson. Kimberly Williams. Nikki Merolla. Kari Groesser. Rita Briguglio. Susan Devine. AnnaMarie C Hudson. Nicole Setelia. Hannah Hayes. Hannah Nagi. Kellie Setelia. Luke Swanson. Helen Waldie. Ann Gutman. Ashley Cinpinski. Chris Cinpinski.

Jill Weldy. Lori Mitchell. Staci Chambers. Diane McCormick. Colleen Vollmer. Allison Stefanski. Aleah Lormin. Sarah Wines. Eric Doyle. Kimberly Doyle. Ronald Salzano. Joe Duda. Nancy Stone. Jill Weldy. Laura Garver. Katie Fortman. Jackie Bonnell. Margaret Burchi. Zoe Heller. Ellory Thill. Jaclynn Parker. Heather Quinlan. Kathleen Saunders. Chris Stark. Nicole MacMillan. Sarah McGovern. Christina Labadie. Mary Pepoy. Cindy Fisher. Stephan Henning. Julie Carl. Katie Grabowski. Dana Miriani. Claire Holloway. Rebecca Oles. Rebecca Brown. Morgan Brouillet. Richard Thompson. Jackson Ouendag. Kori Bryan. Daniel Murza. Mallory Schley. Madison Fair. Jennifer Slade. Michael Bommarito. Amy Saulnier. Sharisse Myren. Stephanie Johnson.

Maria Kayser. Debbie Rosenman. Barbara Poff. Diane Lenderman. Tammy Zander. Nicole Smith. Loretta Salzano Vanni. Kristine Hayes. Philip J McCormick. Sheila Gannon. Paula Kast. Juliet Hentschel. Susan Morin. Richard Kast. Kendra Quinlan. Cindy Kleiman. Cheryl Verbruggen. Charlie Tull. Lori Brouillet. Emma Kotwick. Kaiya Quinlan. Shelley McHugh. Stephanie Braun. Colleen Monti. Kerry Peterson. Joe Mansour. Roberta Patt. Jennifer Rahhal. Terri McCormick. Kara Lobert. Maureen Gumbel. Michigan State Police. Donna Stache. Gail Briolat. **Richard Peterson.** Michael Stallsmith. Stefani U. Ericca C. Werner. Jill Kelly. Aubreigh Wachowski. Marcia Bishop. Charlotte Halsey. Michele Lunetta. Tracie Kania. Carinne Jarvis. James Halsey. Shelby Cavazos. Cody Hocevar.

Linda L. Slimak. Scott P. Slimak. Linda Hall. Nancy Ferguson. Samantha G. Slimak. Duane F. Ice. Stacy Rick-Hessling. Bailey Clark. Vickie Clark. Roberta Masters. Geraldine A. Iacoboni. Gregory Richards. Mary Anne Santoro. Allie Hayes. Travis Ogden. Nicholas Nicoloff. David Ivanko. Shawn DuFresne. Tom Cook. Jane Kleiman. DeAnn Quilliams. Ellen Prebelich. Kaylee Wagester. Kelly Wagester. Kyle Wagester. Cassandra Wagaster. Mike Klozik. Paula Klozik. Anthony D'Ambrosi. Rachel E. Peterson. Lara J. Dixon. Catherine Anne Sjoquist. Page McMillan. Nancy Klein. Scott Crecelius.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Rodney Wakeman adjourned the meeting at 12:11 PM.

Representative Rodney Wakeman, Chair

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov