

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT

REP. STEVEN JOHNSON CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, May 13, 2021

10:30 AM

Room 326, House Office Building

The House Committee on Oversight was called to order by Chair Steven Johnson.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Steven Johnson, Outman, Hoitenga, Reilly, O'Malley, Wozniak, Brixie,

LaGrand, Young. Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Outman moved to adopt the meeting minutes from May 6, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4667 before the committee:

HB 4667 (Rep. Allor)

A bill to prohibit producing, issuing, or providing an incentive for COVID-19 vaccination passports; to provide for the powers and duties of certain state and local governmental officers and entities; and to prescribe civil sanctions.

Representative O'Malley moved to adopt substitute (H-4) to HB 4667. The motion prevailed 8-1-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Steven Johnson, Outman, Hoitenga, Reilly, O'Malley, Wozniak, LaGrand,

Young.

Nays: Rep. Brixie.

Pass: None.

Questions and discussion on the bill followed.

Representative O'Malley moved to report out HB 4667 with recommendation, as substitute

(H-4). The motion prevailed 6-3-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Steven Johnson, Outman, Hoitenga, Reilly, O'Malley, Wozniak.

Nays: Reps. Brixie, LaGrand, Young.

Pass: None.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4667, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Patricia Neuenschwander.

Leslie Cushing.

James Taylor.

Carol Reed.

Jeanette Westhoff.

Karen Braun.

Antionsha Collins.

Ross Ziegenthaler.

Dalinda Reese.

Genevieve Peters.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4667, but did not wish to speak:

Janet Vendramini.

David Galloway.

Eileen Feldpausch.

Sarah Galloway.

Karen Andrews.

David, Elise, Amelia and Sarah Galloway.

Bethany Wosnan.

Kristen Reeves.

Brandon Dickenson.

Alex Wojan.

Nicole Dikenson.

James Neuenshwander.

Doris Campbell.

Dale Campbell.

Shari Schwenk.

Derek Schwenk.

Stefanie and David Boone.

Megan Sattelberg.

Addison Sattelberg.

Rachel Sattelberg.

Emily Sattelberg.

DeAnn Sattelberg.

David Martin.

Coleen Redmond.

Hannah Redmond.

Jan Tenkate.

Nicole Kehoe.

Maria Muzzin. Kristy Boone. Shannon Erskine. Robert Stroshine. Rachel Marcero, representing Us Against The Media. Willow Stevens. Logan Stevens. Nalalve Schmaltz. Shelley Debisle. James Stinson. Shirley Martin. Paul Kehoe. Deanna Jones. Geoff Hamilton. Danette Besley. Heather Oliver. Heidi Yeager.

The Chair laid the following before the committee:

Ron and Sue Yarbrough.

Testimony from individuals regarding in-person graduations.

Steven Molewyk testified before the committee.

William Molewyk and Marzie Killebrew testified before the committee. Questions and discussion followed.

Dr. Barbara Katerberg testified before the committee. Questions and discussion followed.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Steven Johnson adjourned the meeting at 11:27 AM.

Representative Steven Johnson, Chair

Taylor Thrush Committee Clerk tthrush@house.mi.gov