

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## **COMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT**

REP. STEVEN JOHNSON CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Thursday, December 9, 2021

10:30 AM

Room 326, House Office Building

The House Committee on Oversight was called to order by Chair Steven Johnson.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Steven Johnson, Outman, Hoitenga, Reilly, Yaroch, O'Malley, Brixie,

LaGrand, Young. Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Outman moved to adopt the meeting minutes from December 7, 2021. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid SB 728 before the committee:

SB 728 (Sen. McBroom)

A bill to amend 1976 PA 267, entitled "Open meetings act," by amending section 8 (MCL 15.268), as amended by 2021 PA 31.

Senator McBroom, testified in support of SB 728. Questions and discussion followed.

The following people submitted a card in support of SB 728, but did not wish to speak: Steve Delie, representing the Mackinac Center for Public Policy and the Michigan Coalition for Open Government.

Lisa McGraw, representing the Michigan Press Association.

At 10:51 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 10:51 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

Representative O'Malley moved to report out SB 728 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 8-1-0:

## FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Steven Johnson, Outman, Hoitenga, Reilly, Yaroch, O'Malley, LaGrand,

Young.

Nays: Rep. Brixie.

Pass: None.

The Chair laid the Discussion on Issues Related to MDHHS Distribution of Federally Funded COVID-19 Tests to School Districts before the committee.

Representative Albert, and Brent Noskey, Superintendent of Belding Area Schools, testified in regard to the Discussion on Issues Related to MDHHS Distribution of Federally Funded COVID-19 Tests to School Districts. Questions and discussion followed.

There being no further business before the committee, Rep. Steven Johnson adjourned the meeting at 11:35 AM.

Representative Steven Johnson, Chair

Edward Sleeper Committee Clerk esleeper@house.mi.gov