

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON WORKFORCE, TRADES, AND TALENT REP. BETH GRIFFIN CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, June 9, 2022

9:00 a.m.

Room 327, House Office Building

The House Committee on Workforce, Trades, and Talent was called to order by the Chair.

The Chair requested attendance be called. The Clerk called the attendance, and a quorum was present.

Present: Reps. Griffin, Martin, Howell, Farrington, Eisen, Markkanen, Sabo, Hope,

O'Neal.

Absent: None.

Excused: None.

Representative Sabo moved to adopt the meeting minutes from May 26, 2022. There being no objections, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5179 and HB 5180 before the committee:

HB 5179 (Rep. VanWoerkom)

A bill to amend 1936 (Ex Sess) PA 1, entitled "Michigan employment security act," by amending sections 28 and 29 (MCL 421.28 and 421.29), section 28 as amended by 2020 PA 229 and section 29 as amended by 2020 PA 258, and

by adding section 67c.

HB 5180 (Rep. VanWoerkom) A bill to amend 2006 PA 491, entitled "Michigan

works one-stop service center system act," by

amending section 13 (MCL 408.123).

On December 2, 2021, the committee met on HB 5179 and HB 5180 and adopted an (H-1) substitute for HB 5179.

Jonathan Byrd, representing the Michigan Laborers Union, testified in support of HB 5179 (H-1) and HB 5180.

Rachael Wineland, Legislative Liaison for the Michigan Unemployment Insurance Agency, testified in opposition to HB 5179 (H-1) and HB 5180.

Diana Rademacher, Americans for Prosperity, submitted a card in support of HB 5179 (H-1) and HB 5180, but did not wish to speak.

The following individuals submitted a card in opposition to HB 5179 (H-1) and HB 5180, but did not wish to speak:

Bill Flory, representing the Michigan Association for Justice;

Todd Tennis, representing IBEW Michigan State Conference;

Lisa Canada, representing the Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters; and

Lisa Ruby, representing Michigan Poverty Law Program.

Representative Martin moved to adopt substitute (H-4) to HB 5179. The motion prevailed 8-0-1:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Griffin, Martin, Howell, Farrington, Eisen, Markkanen, Sabo, O'Neal.

Nays: None. Pass: Rep. Hope.

Representative O'Neal moved to adopt substitute (H-5) to HB 5179. The motion did not prevail 3-6-0:

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Sabo, Hope, O'Neal.

Nays: Reps. Griffin, Martin, Howell, Farrington, Eisen, Markkanen.

Pass: None.

Representative Farrington moved to report out HB 5179 with recommendation, as substitute (H-4). The motion prevailed 6-0-3:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Griffin, Martin, Howell, Farrington, Eisen, Markkanen.

Nays: None.

Pass: Reps. Sabo, Hope, O'Neal.

Representative Hope moved to adopt substitute (H-2) to HB 5180. The motion did not prevail 3-6-0-.

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Sabo, Hope, O'Neal.

Nays: Reps. Griffin, Martin, Howell, Farrington, Eisen, Markkanen.

Pass: None.

Representative Markkanen moved to report out HB 5180 with recommendation. The motion prevailed 6-0-3:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Griffin, Martin, Howell, Farrington, Eisen, Markkanen.

Nays: None.

Pass: Reps. Sabo, Hope, O'Neal.

There being no further business before the committee; Representative Markkanen moved that the committee adjourn. There being no objections, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 9:27a.m.

Representative Beth Griffin, Chair

Joy Brewer Committee Clerk joybrewer@house.mi.gov