

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL GOVERNMENT REP. GREG VANWOERKOM

CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday, April 26, 2022

10:30 AM Room 307, House Office Building

The House Appropriations Subcommittee on General Government was called to order by Chair VanWoerkom.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. VanWoerkom, Bollin, Allor, Marino, Lightner, Maddock, Sabo, Tate, O'Neal.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

The Chair laid HB 5783(H-1) before the committee:

HB 5783 (Rep. VanWoerkom)

A bill to make appropriations for the legislature, the executive, the department of the attorney general, the department of state, the department of treasury, the department of technology, management, and budget, the department of civil rights, and certain other state purposes for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023; to provide for the expenditure of the appropriations; to provide for the disposition of fees and other income received by the state agencies; and to declare the effect of this act.

Rep. VanWoerkom recognized Mr. Michael Cnossen and Ms. Viola Bay Wild, Senior Fiscal Analysts with the House Fiscal Agency, who presented an overview of the Subcommittee Chair recommended appropriations for General Government.

Rep. Tate moved to amend HB 5783(H-1) to provide \$20 million to the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity to provide \$12 million to the Charles H. Wright museum and \$8 million to the Detroit Historical Society.

The motion did not prevail 3-6-0:

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Sabo, Tate, O'Neal. Nays: Reps. VanWoerkom, Bollin, Allor, Marino, Lightner, Maddock. Pass: None.

Rep. Tate moved to amend HB 5783(H-1) to provide \$50 million to the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity to create a nonprofit relief grant program.

The motion did not prevail 3-6-0:

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL Yeas: Reps. Sabo, Tate, O'Neal. Nays: Reps. VanWoerkom, Bollin, Allor, Marino, Lightner, Maddock. Pass: None.

Rep. Sabo moved to amend HB 5783(H-1) to provide funding to Treasury to restore revenue sharing funding at the Executive budget recommended level.

The motion did not prevail 3-6-0:

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL Yeas: Reps. Sabo, Tate, O'Neal. Nays: Reps. VanWoerkom, Bollin, Allor, Marino, Lightner, Maddock. Pass: None.

Representative Allor moved to refer House Bill No. 5783 to the Committee on Appropriations. The motion prevailed 6-1-2:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. VanWoerkom, Bollin, Allor, Marino, Lightner, Maddock. Nays: Rep. Tate. Pass: Reps. Sabo, O'Neal.

Rep. VanWoerkom recognized Mr. M.C. Rothhorn, Chairperson of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, and Mr. Edward Woods III, Executive Director of the Michigan Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, who presented on the Commission's operations and budget and answered members questions.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, Chair VanWoerkom adjourned the meeting at 12:08 AM.

Representative Greg VanWoerkom, Chair

Michael Cnossen Committee Clerk mcnossen@house.mi.gov