

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE REP. REGGIE MILLER CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, May 22, 2024

9:00 AM

Room 327, House Office Building

The House Committee on Agriculture was called to order by Chair Miller.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Miller, Paiz, Young, Coffia, Dievendorf, Fitzgerald, Herzberg, Neyer,

VanderWall, Roth, Smit.

Absent: Reps. Rheingans, Bierlein. Excused: Reps. Rheingans, Bierlein.

Representative Paiz moved to adopt the meeting minutes from May 15, 2024. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid presentations on Groundwater Withdrawal and Permitting before the committee.

Aaron Keatley and Sydney Hart, representing the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy, gave a presentation on Groundwater Withdrawal and Permitting. Questions and discussion followed.

Katie Kensley, representing the Michigan Vegetable Council, gave a presentation on Groundwater Withdrawal and Permitting.

The Chair laid a presentation on Environmental Sustainability in Michigan Potatoes before the committee.

Kelly Turner, representing the Potato Growers of Michigan, gave a presentation on Environmental Sustainability in Michigan Potatoes. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair laid a presentation on Michigan Apples and Growers before the committee.

Diane Smith, representing the Michigan Apple Committee, gave a presentation on Michigan Apples and Growers. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair laid a presentation on Michigan Aquaculture before the committee.

Dan Vogler, representing the Michigan Aquaculture Association, gave a presentation on Michigan Aquaculture. Questions and discussion followed.

Representative Young moved to excuse Representatives Rheingans and Bierlein from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Miller adjourned the meeting at 10:25 AM.

Representative Reggie Miller, Chair

Hazel Campbell-Crawley Committee Clerk hcrawley@house.mi.gov