

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE REP. REGGIE MILLER CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, October 25, 2023

9:00 AM

Room 327, House Office Building

The House Committee on Agriculture was called to order by Chair Miller.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Miller, Paiz, Stone, Young, Coffia, Dievendorf, Fitzgerald, Rheingans,

Neyer, VanderWall, Roth, Bierlein, Smit.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Paiz moved to adopt the meeting minutes from October 11, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

At 9:15 AM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 9:40 AM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

The Chair laid HB 4673 before the committee:

HB 4673 (Rep. Miller)

A bill to require certain original equipment manufacturers and authorized repair providers of agricultural equipment to make diagnostic, maintenance, and repair parts, tools, and documentation available to independent repair providers and owners of that equipment; and to provide remedies.

Representative Miller testified in support of HB 4673 and (H-2)

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4673, but did not wish to speak:

Dennis Kellogg, representing the Michigan Farmers Union.

Kathleen Angerer, representing the Michigan Department of Agriculture.

Bob Thompson, representing the Michigan Farmers Union.

Denzel McCampbell, representing Progress Michigan.

Logan Volce, representing the Michigan League of Conservation Voters.

Joanne Galloway, representing the Center for Change Northern Michigan Advocacy.

Richard Douglas.

Michael Fields.

David Markham, representing the Center for Change Northern Michigan Advocacy.

Barbara Conley.

Rev. Duane Miller.

Kalvin Carter.

Carol Higgins.

Mary O'Neill.

Megan Tinsley, representing the Michigan Environmental Council.

Shirley Thompson, Member of the Michigan Farmers Union.

Cathy Albro, the Chair of the Michigan Democratic Party Rural Caucus.

Ed Rachwitz.

Dixon Dudderar.

Robert Kennedy.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4673, but did not wish to speak:

Tim Ostentoski Sr, representing Ostentoski Farm equipment.

Eric Wareham, the VP of Government Affairs for the North American Equipment Dealers Association.

Blake Laethem, representing the Farm Depot.

Dan FIsher, representing the Burnips Equipment Company.

Joel Bjork, representing the Burnips Equipment Company.

Kaitlyn Byerly, representing the Burnips Equipment Company.

David Worthems, representing the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

Representative Coffia moved to adopt substitute (H-2) to HB 4673. The motion prevailed 8-5-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Miller, Paiz, Stone, Young, Coffia, Dievendorf, Fitzgerald, Rheingans.

Nays: Reps. Neyer, VanderWall, Roth, Bierlein, Smit.

Pass: None.

Representative Never offered the following amendment to HB 4673:

1. Amend page 6, line 15, after "2025" by inserting "and until January 1 2028".

Representative Neyer moved to adopt the amendment to HB 4673. The motion did not prevail 5-8-0:

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Neyer, VanderWall, Roth, Bierlein, Smit.

Nays: Reps. Miller, Paiz, Stone, Young, Coffia, Dievendorf, Fitzgerald, Rheingans.

Pass: None.

Representative Paiz moved to report out HB 4673 with recommendation, as substitute (H-2).

The committee debated the motion.

The motion prevailed 8-5-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Miller, Paiz, Stone, Young, Coffia, Dievendorf, Fitzgerald, Rheingans.

Nays: Reps. Neyer, VanderWall, Roth, Bierlein, Smit.

Pass: None.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Miller adjourned the meeting the time being 9:50 AM.

Representative Reggie Miller, Chair

Justin Easter Committee Clerk jeaster@house.mi.gov