

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

REP. ANGELA WITWER
CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, March 15, 9:00 Room 352, House Appropriations, State Capitol 2023 AM Building

The House Committee on Appropriations was called to order by Chair Witwer.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Witwer, O'Neal, Brixie, Brabec, Morse, Puri, Steckloff, Weiss, Martus,

McKinney, Mentzer, Morgan, Price, Skaggs, Snyder, Wilson, Lightner, Bollin, Green, Slagh,

Beson, Borton, Fink, Cavitt, DeBoer, Kuhn, Schuette, Steele.

Absent: Rep. Hood. Excused: Rep. Hood.

Representative O'Neal moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 8, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

Representative Lightner moved to excuse Representative Hood from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid the presentation on the Creation of a New Battery Manufacturing Campus in Mecosta County before the Committee.

Randy Thelen, President & CEO of the The Right Place, joined by Chuck Thelen, Vice President of North American Operations of Gotion, Inc., both provided a presentation on the Creation of a New Battery Manufacturing Campus in Mecosta County. Questions and discussion followed.

Dr. Bill Pink, President of Ferris State University, testified in support of the Creation of a New Battery Manufacturing Campus in Mecosta County. Questions and discussion followed.

Jim Chapman, Supervisor of Green Charter Township, testified in support of the Creation of a

New Battery Manufacturing Campus in Mecosta County. Questions and discussion followed

The Chair laid Legislative Transfer Request 2023-1 and 2023-2 before the Committee.

Representative Lightner moved to amend Legislative Transfer Request 2023-1 and 2023-2 by striking pages 1 and 3. The motion did not prevail 12-16-0:

UNFAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Lightner, Bollin, Green, Slagh, Beson, Borton, Fink, Cavitt, DeBoer, Kuhn, Schuette, Steele.

Nays: Reps. Witwer, O'Neal, Brixie, Brabec, Morse, Puri, Steckloff, Weiss, Martus,

McKinney, Mentzer, Morgan, Price, Skaggs, Snyder, Wilson.

Pass: None.

Representative O'Neal moved to approve Legislative Transfer Request 2023-1 and 2023-2. The motion prevailed 16-12-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Witwer, O'Neal, Brixie, Brabec, Morse, Puri, Steckloff, Weiss, Martus, McKinney, Mentzer, Morgan, Price, Skaggs, Snyder, Wilson.

Nays: Reps. Lightner, Bollin, Green, Slagh, Beson, Borton, Fink, Cavitt, DeBoer, Kuhn, Schuette, Steele.

Pass: None.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Witwer adjourned the meeting at 10:16 AM.

Representative Angela Witwer, Chair

Dakota Soda Committee Clerk dsoda@house.mi.gov