

# HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS

REP. ANGELA WITWER
CHAIR

# **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Tuesday, June 27, 9:00 Room 352, House Appropriations, State 2023 AM Capitol Building

The House Committee on Appropriations was called to order by Chair Witwer.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Witwer, O'Neal, Brixie, Hood, Brabec, Morse, Puri, Steckloff, Weiss, Martus, McKinney, Mentzer, Morgan, Price, Skaggs, Snyder, Wilson, Lightner, Bollin, Green, Slagh, Beson, Borton, Fink, Cavitt, DeBoer, Kuhn, Schuette, Steele.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative O'Neal moved to adopt the meeting minutes from May 3, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid Legislative Transfer Request 2023-5 before the committee.

Terri Fitzpatrick, Josh Hundt, and Bree Anderson, all representing the Michigan Economic Development Corporation, testified in support of Legislative Transfer Request 2023-5, and answered questions from committee members on Legislative Transfer Request 2023-4. Questions and discussion followed.

The Chair laid Legislative Transfer Request 2023-3 and 2023-6 before the committee.

Viola Bay Wild, representing the House Fiscal Agency, provided testimony on Legislative Transfer Request 2023-3 and Legislative Transfer Request 2023-6.

The following person submitted a card in support of Legislative Transfer Request 2023-3 and 2023-6, but did not wish to speak:

Ashley Steffen, representing the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development.

The following person submitted a card in support of Legislative Transfer Request 2023-5, but did not wish to speak:

Connor Spalding, representing the City of Lansing.

The following person submitted a card in support of Legislative Transfer Request 2023-6, but did not wish to speak:

Heather Feuerstein, representing the Michigan Department of Military and Veterans Affairs.

Representative Steckloff moved to approve Legislative Transfer Request 2023-3, Legislative Transfer Request 2023-5, and Legislative Transfer Request 2023-6. The motion prevailed 23-6-0:

#### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Witwer, O'Neal, Brixie, Hood, Brabec, Morse, Puri, Steckloff, Weiss, Martus, McKinney, Mentzer, Morgan, Price, Skaggs, Snyder, Wilson, Lightner, Green, Slagh, Beson, Borton, Cavitt.

Nays: Reps. Bollin, Fink, DeBoer, Kuhn, Schuette, Steele.

Pass: None.

The Chair laid Legislative Transfer Request 2023-4 before the committee.

Representative Skaggs moved to approve Legislative Transfer Request 2023-4. The motion prevailed 18-11-0:

### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Witwer, O'Neal, Brixie, Hood, Brabec, Morse, Puri, Steckloff, Weiss, Martus, McKinney, Mentzer, Morgan, Price, Skaggs, Snyder, Wilson, Green.

Nays: Reps. Lightner, Bollin, Slagh, Beson, Borton, Fink, Cavitt, DeBoer, Kuhn, Schuette, Steele.

Pass: None.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Witwer adjourned the meeting at 9:24 AM.

Representative Angela Witwer, Chair

Dakota Soda Committee Clerk dsoda@house.mi.gov