

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

## Committee on Energy, Communications, and Technology Rep. Helena Scott Chair

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Wednesday, October 11, 2023 9:00 AM Room 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Energy, Communications, and Technology was called to order by Chair Scott.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Scott, Andrews, Coleman, Whitsett, Neeley, Byrnes, Churches, Hill, MacDonell, McFall, Wendzel, Outman, Aragona, BeGole, Greene, Prestin, Schmaltz. Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Coleman joined the committee remotely.

Representative Churches moved to adopt the meeting minutes from September 20, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123 before the committee:

HB 5120	(Rep. Aiyash)	A bill to amend 2008 PA 295, entitled "Clean and renewable energy and energy waste reduction act," (MCL 460.1001 to 460.1211) by amending the title and by adding part 8.
HB 5121	(Rep. Puri)	A bill to amend 2006 PA 110, entitled "Michigan zoning enabling act," by amending section 205 (MCL 125.3205), as amended by 2018 PA 366.
HB 5122	(Rep. Skaggs)	A bill to amend 2008 PA 295, entitled "Clean and renewable energy and energy waste reduction act," (MCL 460.1001 to 460.1211) by amending the title and by adding part 8.
HB 5123	(Rep. Puri)	A bill to amend 2006 PA 110, entitled "Michigan

zoning enabling act," by amending section 205 (MCL 125.3205), as amended by 2018 PA 366.

Representative Aiyash, Representative Puri and Representative Skaggs testified in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123. Questions and discussion followed.

Dan Scripps, Chair, representing the Michigan Public Service Commission, testified in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123. Questions and discussion followed.

Ed Rivet, representing the Conservative Energy Forum, testified in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123.

Justin Carpenter, representing EIBC; and Scott Viciana representing Ventower Industries; testified in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123.

Judy Allen, representing the Michigan Townships Association, testified in opposition to HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123. Questions and discussion followed.

Karol Sanborn, a resident of Lebanon Township, testified in opposition to HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123.

Clara and Aaron Ostrander, residents of Milan Township, testified in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123.

Representative Joseph Fox testified in opposition to HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123.

Robert Jeorg, representing the Michigan Laborers District Council, testified in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Ashlyn Newell, a Maple Valley Township resident.

Don Smucker, a Stanton resident.

Dick Farnsworth, a Grand Rapids resident.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB

5123, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Representative Greg Alexander, representing the 98th House District.

John LaMacchia, representing the Michigan Municipal League.

Chris Arndt, representing Oneida Charter Township.

Kathleen Defever, a resident of Fulton Township.

Mark Fosdick, representing Cohoctah Township.

Pamela Reed, a Michigan resident.

Madeline Fata and Deena Bosworth, representing the Michigan Association of Counties.

Steve Weiss, representing Conway Township.

David Karczynski, a Michigan resident.

Kelli Case, a Michigan resident.

Stephanie Hester, a Barry County resident.

Robert Scott, a Montcalm County resident. Dr. Wanda Iza, representing Ingham County Citizens United. Sandra Tannehill, a Michigan resident. Michael Hoover, a Laingsburg resident. Kevon Martis, Robert Scott and Pam Reed, representing Our Home, Our Voice.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5120, but did not wish to speak:

Shane Hernandez, representing ABC of Michigan.

Chuck Lippstreu, representing Michigan Agri-Business Association.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123, but did not wish to speak:

Theresa Owen, representing Clinton County, Greenbush Township, Clinton County Citizens United. Ken Wieber, a Fowler resident. Val Vail-Shirey, a Clinton County Commissioner. Barbara Culham, representing Wheatfield Township. Kevin Murphy, representing Montcalm County. Rosemary Murphy, representing Winfield Township. Cynthia Twichell, representing Barry County. Jessica Kwekel, representing Montcalm County/Cato Township residents. Shelly Lake, representing Barry County. Diane Hulett, a Michigan resident. Melissa Gallop, a Michigan resident. Joann Haas, representing Cohoctah Township. Andrew Vermeesch, representing the Michigan Farm Bureau. Peter Psarouthakis, representing the Clinton County Planning Commission. Harold Defever, representing Fulton Township. Jeremy Kwekel, representing Montcalm County. Lisa Brown, a Michigan Resident. Mike Brown, a Michigan resident. Rob Porter, representing Conway Township. Lisa Cook-Gordon, a Michigan resident. Tim Langholz, representing the NFIB. Mike Spence, representing the Southeast Michigan Council of Governments. Kelly Turner, representing the Potato Growers of Michigan. Jason Hayes, representing the Mackinac Center.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 5120, HB 5121, HB 5122 and HB 5123, but did not wish to speak:

Derrell Slaughter, representing the National Resources Defense Council. Tim Minotas, representing the Sierra Club. Stephanie Johnson, representing the Utility Worker Union of America. Nick Occhipinti, representing the Michigan League of Conservation Voters. Erika Kowall, representing American Clean Power. Eli Isaguille, representing the Michigan Regional Council of Carpenters and Millwrights. Peder Mewis, representing the Clean Grid Alliance. Matt Sowash, representing the Solar Energy Industry Association. Barry Szczesny, representing Savion LLC.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Scott adjourned the meeting at 10:29 AM.

Representative Helena Scott, Chair

Molly Wingrove Committee Clerk mwingrove@house.mi.gov