

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON HEALTH POLICY

REP. JULIE M. ROGERS
CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, June 27, 12:10 Room 352, House Appropriations, State Capitol 2023 PM Building

The House Committee on Health Policy was called to order by Chair Rogers.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Rogers, Whitsett, Brenda Carter, Haadsma, Neeley, Glanville, Coffia, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Miller, Rheingans, VanderWall, Mueller, VanWoerkom, Roth, Schmaltz.

Absent: Reps. Filler, Thompson. Excused: Reps. Filler, Thompson.

Representative Rheingans moved to adopt the meeting minutes from June 22, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4200 and SB 31 before the committee:

HB 4200 (Rep. Scott) A bill to amend 1978 PA 368, entitled "Public

health code," by amending section 9206 (MCL 333.9206), as amended by 1996 PA 540, and by

adding section 5474d.

SB 31 (Sen. Cherry) A bill to amend 1978 PA 368, entitled "Public

health code," by amending section 9206 (MCL 333.9206), as amended by 1996 PA 540, and by

adding section 5474d.

Substitute H-1 to HB 4200 was previously adopted on June 22, 2023.

Substitute H-1 to SB 31 was previously adopted on June 22, 2023.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4200 and SB 31, but did not wish to speak:

Amy Zaagman, representing the Michigan Council for Maternal and Child Health. Bel Martin, representing Ascension.

Chris Semrinec, representing the Michigan League for Conservation Voters.

Gabe Basso, representing Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan.

Representative Whitsett moved to report out HB 4200 with recommendation, as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 16-0-1:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Rogers, Whitsett, Brenda Carter, Haadsma, Neeley, Glanville, Coffia, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Miller, Rheingans, VanderWall, Mueller, Roth, Schmaltz.

Nays: None.

Pass: Rep. VanWoerkom.

Representative Neeley moved to report out SB 31 with recommendation, as substitute (H-1). The motion prevailed 16-0-1:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Rogers, Whitsett, Brenda Carter, Haadsma, Neeley, Glanville, Coffia, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Miller, Rheingans, VanderWall, Mueller, Roth, Schmaltz.

Nays: None.

Pass: Rep. VanWoerkom.

Representative VanderWall moved to excuse Representatives Filler and Thompson from the meeting. There being no objection the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Rogers adjourned the meeting at 12:16 PM.

Representative Julie M. Rogers, Chair

Melissa Sweet Committee Clerk msweet@house.mi.gov