

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY REP. KELLY A BREEN CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, February 1, 2023

10:30 AM

Room 521, House Office Building

The House Committee on Judiciary was called to order by Chair Breen.

The Clerk read a letter from House Speaker Joe Tate which appointed members of the House Judiciary Committee.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Breen, Edwards, Tyrone Carter, Hope, Arbit, Dievendorf, Hoskins,

Tsernoglou, Fink, Wendzel, Wozniak, Outman, Johnsen.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Arbit joined the committee remotely.

Representative Edwards moved to adopt Wednesday at 10:30 a.m. in room 521 of the House Office Building as the day, time, and location for regularly scheduled meetings of the House Judiciary Committee. The motion prevailed 11-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Breen, Edwards, Tyrone Carter, Hope, Hoskins, Tsernoglou, Fink, Wendzel, Wozniak, Outman, Johnsen.

Nays: None. Pass: None.

Chair Breen announced that the House Judiciary Committee will follow the Uniform Committee rules, stated in the House Standing Rules, that were adopted on the House Floor.

Chair Breen laid before the committee a presentation by the Department of Attorney General. Attorney General Dana Nessel, Mitch Albers and Aaron Van Langevelde, both representatives of the Attorney General's office, gave a presentation to the committee. Questions and discussion followed.

Chair Breen laid before the committee a presentation by the State Court Administrative Office. The State Court Administrator, Tom Boyd, gave a presentation to the committee. Questions and discussion followed.

The following people submitted a card wishing to speak, but due to the time constraints were unable to speak:

Jody White, representing herself.

Mike Bambas, representing himself.

Tom Howe, representing himself.

Cynthia Mifsud, representing her mother, Betty Hayes.

Amy Shankleton-Novess, representing the Court Recorders and Reporters.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Breen adjourned the meeting at 11:45 AM.

Representative Kelly Breen, Chair

Melissa Sweet Committee Clerk msweet@house.mi.gov