

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Committee on Labor Rep. Jim Haadsma Chair

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Thursday, September 14, 2023 9:00 AM Room 326, House Office Building

The House Committee on Labor was called to order by Chair Haadsma.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Haadsma, Mentzer, Koleszar, O'Neal, Andrews, Churches, Wegela, Wozniak, Mueller, Kunse. Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Koleszar moved to adopt the meeting minutes from June 22, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4688 before the committee:

HB 4688 (Rep. Haadsma)

A bill to amend 1947 PA 336, entitled "An act to prohibit strikes by certain public employees; to provide review from disciplinary action with respect thereto; to provide for the mediation of grievances and the holding of elections; to declare and protect the rights and privileges of public employees; to require certain provisions in collective bargaining agreements; to prescribe means of enforcement and penalties for the violation of the provisions of this act; and to make appropriations," by amending sections 11 and 15 (MCL 423.211 and 423.215), section 15 as amended by 2023 PA 9.

Representative Mentzer moved to adopt substitute (H-1) to HB 4688. The motion prevailed 6-3-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Haadsma, Mentzer, Koleszar, O'Neal, Andrews, Churches. Nays: Reps. Wozniak, Mueller, Kunse. Pass: None.

Matt Sahr, representing the Michigan Professional Firefighters Union, testified in support of HB 4688.

Dave Hodgkins, representing the Michigan Municipal League, and Scott Smith, representing the City of Wyoming, testified in opposition to HB 4688. Questions and discussion followed.

Michael O'Heraon, representing the Michigan Professional Firefighters Union, testified in support of HB 4688. Questions and discussion followed.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4688, but did not wish to speak: Andy Neumann, representing the Michigan Education Association. Yousef Rabhi, representing the Michigan Nurses Association. Jenell Mansfield, representing the American Federation of Teachers of Michigan. James Melnyk, representing the International Association of Fire Fighters Local 1188. Mitch Tokarski, representing the Westland Firefighters. Montgomery Nye, representing the Firefighters. Guy Villet, representing the Plymouth Township Local 1496. Gary Purdom, representing the Rochester Professional Firefighters Local 5234. Geoff Lassers, representing the Michigan Professional Firefighters Union Local 1721. Andrew Loudon, representing the Plymouth Township Fire Department Local 1496. Darryl Curtis, representing Local 1557 Sterling Heights. Jared Imlay, representing the Southfield Firefighters Local 1029. Michael Adamo, representing 1561. Joseph Stoltz, representing Fort Gratiot Local 5392. Scott Bala and Tim Hermann, representing the Michigan Professional Firefighters Union. Mike Olando, representing Novi Local 3232. Christopher Jenuwine, representing the Shelby Township Firefighters Local 1338. Steven Rzeppa, representing the American Federation of State, County and Municipal **Employees Council 25.** The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4688, but did not wish to speak:

Mike Batterbee, representing the Michigan Townships Association.

Steve Delie, representing the Mackinac Center for Public Policy.

Stephanie Johnson, representing the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs.

Robert Stevenson, representing the Michigan Association of Chiefs of Police.

Angela Elsey, representing the Michigan Communications Directors Association.

Samantha Gibson, representing the Michigan Association of Counties.

Renee Beniak, representing the Michigan County Medical Care Facilities Council.

Matt Saxton, representing the Michigan Sheriff's Association.

John Fournier, representing the City of Ann Arbor.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Haadsma adjourned the meeting at 10:01 AM.

Representative Jim Haadsma, Chair

Edward Sleeper Committee Clerk esleeper@house.mi.gov