

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON REGULATORY REFORM

REP. TYRONE CARTER
CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Tuesday, May 9, 2023

10:30 AM

Room 519, House Office Building

The House Committee on Regulatory Reform was called to order by Chair Tyrone Carter.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Tyrone Carter, Liberati, Neeley, Scott, Young, Grant, McFall, Snyder,

Wilson, Mueller, Filler, Wendzel, Aragona, Bierlein, Neyer.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Neeley moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 11, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528 before the committee:

HB 4526 (Rep. Outman) A bill to amend 1927 PA 175, entitled "The code

of criminal procedure," by amending section 13f of chapter XVII (MCL 777.13f), as added by 2002

PA 30.

HB 4527 (Rep. Tyrone Carter) A bill to amend 2006 PA 110, entitled "Michigan

zoning enabling act," by amending section 205 (MCL 125.3205), as amended by 2018 PA 366.

HB 4528 (Rep. Witwer) A bill to amend 1994 PA 451, entitled "Natural

resources and environmental protection act," by amending section 9115 (MCL 324.9115), as amended by 2017 PA 40, and by adding part 639.

Chair Carter introduced the bill package.

Doug Needham, representing Michigan Aggregates Association, testified in support of HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528 and shared a power point presentation. Questions and

discussion followed.

Matt Double, representing the Michigan Aggregates Association/Northstar Aggregates, testified in support of HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Lance Binoniemi, representing the Michigan Infrastructure and Transportation Association, testified in support of HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Kelly Kuiper, representing the Great Lakes Excavating/Stillwater Capital, testified in support of HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Travis Boeskool, Legislative Liaison, and Adam Wygant, Oil, Gas and Minerals Division Director, both representing the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes and Energy, testified with no position on HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528. Questions and discussion followed.

Judy Allen, representing Michigan Townships Association, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Jen Rigterink, representing the Michigan Municipal League, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528. Questions and discussion followed.

Andrea Brown, representing the Michigan Association of Planning, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Megan Tinsley, representing the Michigan Environmental Council, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Michele Joilet and Chris Bzdock, representing the Metamora Land Preservation Association, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528 and shared a power point presentation.

Scott Benscotter, Metamora Township Treasurer, and Gerald Fisher, an attorney representing Metamora, Kasson and Sharon Townships, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Bill Richardson, representing Waterloo Township, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

David LaMontaine, representing Riga Township, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Anthony Reeder, representing Lenox Township, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

Robert DePalma, representing Groveland Township, testified in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528, but did not wish to speak:

Caroline Kiethen, representing the Michigan Manufacturers Association.

Mike Alaimo, representing the Michigan Chamber of Commerce.

Dawn Crandall, representing the Home Builders Association of Michigan.

Michigan Laborers District Council.

Scott Seamon, representing Specification Stone Products.

Guy White, representing Jeremy's Sand and Gravel.

Karl Domres, representing Team Elmer's.

Bob Nobbs, representing NBSX LLC.

Sky Cheney, representing F.G. Cheney Limestone.

Greg Pease, representing Alta Equipment Company.

Greg Thomas, representing Consumers Concrete Corp.

Jessica Routley, representing Aggregate Resources.

Steve Brooks, representing Great Lakes Aggregates, LLC.

Shawn O'Mara, representing AIS Construction Equip. Corp.

Bill Lester Sr., representing Lester Bros. Excavating.

Todd Colberg, representing Rieth-Riley Construction Company.

Dan Sniegowski, representing Stoneco.

Mark Larsen, representing Wallace Stone.

Todd Crane, representing The Gerken Companies.

John Abbitt, representing Carmeuse.

John Bitely, representing Sable Developing, Inc.

William Miller, representing Operating Engineers Local 324.

William Miller, representing the Oakland County Board of Commissioners.

Kevin Moore, representing Teamsters Joint Council 43.

Dan DeGraaf, representing the Michigan Concrete Association.

The following people submitted a card in opposition to HB 4526, HB 4527 and HB 4528, but did not wish to speak:

Matt Miner, representing Our Home, Our Vote.

Madeline Fata, representing the Michigan Association of Counties.

Mike Compagnoni, representing the Michigan Water Environment Association.

Nick Occhipinti, representing the League of Conservation Voters.

Joseph Kelly, a Grass Lake resident.

Barbara Schmid, representing Sharon Preservation Society.

Dorothy Frank, representing MLPA-Metamora Preservation.

Carole Porretta, representing MLPA-Metamora Preservation.

Tonia Frank, representing Metamora.

Victor Dzenowagis, representing Metamora.

Karyn Ferrick, representing the City of Grand Rapids.

David Maturen, representing the Michigan Lakes and Streams Association.

Larry Heslinga, representing Healthy Waters Alliance.

Scott Smith, representing the City of Wyoming.

Jennifer McKay, representing Tipp of the Mitt Wateshed Council.

Sean McBrearty, representing Clean Water Action.

Tim Minotas, representing the Sierra Club-Michigan Chapter.

James Schwantes, representing Centerville Township.

Val Vail-Shirey, representing the Clinton County Commission.

Steve Schneider, representing the Village of Almont.

Mike Compagnoni, representing the Michigan Section-American Water Works Association.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Tyrone Carter adjourned the meeting at 12:33 PM.

Representative Tyrone Carter, Chair

Molly Wingrove Committee Clerk mwingrove@house.mi.gov