

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION, MOBILITY AND INFRASTRUCTURE Rep. Nate Shannon

CHAIR

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Wednesday, April 19, 2023 3:00 PM Room 521, House Office Building

The House Committee on Transportation, Mobility and Infrastructure was called to order by Chair Shannon.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Bruck, Kunse, St. Germaine. Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Bruck joined the committee remotely.

Representative Kunse moved to adopt the meeting minutes from April 11, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid HB 4250, HB 4251 and HB 4252 before the committee:

HB 4250	(Rep. Koleszar)	A bill to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled "Michigan vehicle code," by amending section 602b (MCL 257.602b), as amended by 2016 PA 332.
HB 4251	(Rep. Tyrone Carter)	A bill to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled "Michigan vehicle code," by amending sections 319, 319b, and 320a (MCL 257.319, 257.319b, and 257.320a), section 319 as amended by 2020 PA 376, section 319b as amended by 2015 PA 11, and section 320a as amended by 2018 PA 349.

HB 4252 (Rep. Mueller)

A bill to amend 1949 PA 300, entitled "Michigan vehicle code," by amending sections 602c, 732, and 907 (MCL 257.602c, 257.732, and 257.907), section 602c as added by 2012 PA 592, section 732 as amended by 2017 PA 160, and section 907 as amended by 2020 PA 382.

The Chair briefly explained proposed substitute (H-3) to HB 4250.

Representative Outman moved to adopt substitute (H-3) to HB 4250. The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Kunse, St. Germaine. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Hoskins moved to report out HB 4250 with recommendation, as substitute (H-3). The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Kunse, St. Germaine. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Conlin moved to adopt substitute (H-2) to HB 4251. The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Kunse, St. Germaine. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Hoskins moved to report out HB 4251 with recommendation, as substitute (H-2). The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Kunse, St. Germaine. Nays: None. Pass: None.

The Chair briefly explained proposed substitute (H-2) to HB 4252.

Representative MacDonell moved to adopt substitute (H-2) to HB 4252. The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Kunse, St. Germaine. Nays: None. Pass: None.

Representative Fitzgerald moved to report out HB 4252 with recommendation, as substitute (H-2). The motion prevailed 12-0-0:

FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Shannon, MacDonell, Coleman, Conlin, Farhat, Fitzgerald, Hoskins, Miller, Outman, Roth, Kunse, St. Germaine. Nays: None. Pass: None.

The following people submitted a card in support of HB 4250, HB 4251 and HB 4252, but did not wish to speak:

Ed Noyola, representing the County Road Association of Michigan.

Kevin McKinney, the Michigan Brain Injury Association.

Jim deSpelder, representing the County Road Association Self Insurance Fund.

Angela Ayers, representing Ford Motor Company.

Kevin McKinney, representing the Michigan Brain Injury Provider Council.

Mark de la Verghe, representing Cavnue.

The following person submitted a card in opposition to HB 4250, HB 4251 and HB 4252, but did not wish to speak:

Merissa Kovach, representing the American Civil Liberties Union of Michigan.

There being no further business before the committee, Chair Shannon adjourned the meeting at 3:49 PM.

Representative Nate Shannon, Chair

Dakota Soda Committee Clerk dsoda@house.mi.gov